FIFA Club World Cup

FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is an annual international men’s association football competition involving seven club teams including the champion club team from each confederation along with the host nation’s national champions.

FIFA Club World Cup 2021

The competition was first contested in 2000, then called the FIFA Club World Championship, and held in Brazil. The tournament was not held again until 2005 and has been held annually since.

The tournament teams comprise the winners of that year’s AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania) and UEFA Champions League (Europe), along with the host nation’s national champions.

Expansion in 2021
A new tournament format is planned to start in 2021, and would from then on be held every four years instead of annually. This new format would feature 24 teams, and would include all UEFA Champions League winners, UEFA Champions League runners-up, Europa League winners and Copa Libertadores winners from the four seasons up to and including the year of the event, with the remainder qualifying from the other four confederations.

FIFA Club World Cup

The first goal of the competition was scored by Real Madrid’s Nicolas Anelka against Al-Nassr.
The second edition of the competition was planned for Spain in 2001, and would have featured 12 clubs. However, it was canceled due to a combination of factors, most importantly the collapse of FIFA’s marketing partner.the event scheduled for 2020 was postponed to Feburary 2021 due to the worldwide coronavirus pandemic as some 2020 competitions were not completed in time.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.